Wild Writing with Sanjida
Wild Writing with Sanjida Podcast
An Effective Way To Create Authentic, Memorable And Compelling Characters
0:00
-2:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Wild Writing with Sanjida

An Effective Way To Create Authentic, Memorable And Compelling Characters

The Process #4 The secret to creating a good fictional character

Hi there,

This (the audio) is the opening scene in Meat, a short thriller I’m writing for Comma Press. I’ve been using Meat, to show you my writing process from start to finish, in the hope that some of my tips and techniques might be useful to you.

Here’s what Meat is about (description by Comma Press):

Set in present-day Bristol, Meat concerns an artist, Lily, who is staging her first solo exhibition consisting of memento mori ("remember you must die") paintings. Things take a sinister turn, however, when Lily's scientist husband, Lars, encourages her to incorporate his latest project into the exhibition - pieces of lab-grown cultivated meat. As art collides with science - with horrifying consequences - Lily is forced to confront some dark, uncomfortable truths about her marriage. 

An Allegory of the Vanities of Human Life by Harmen Steenwijck 1768

So far, in The Process we’ve looked at how you begin to write a short story, why and how to create an outline and how to plot.

Share

So how do you create compelling characters?

First, we’ll look at what is absolutely necessary to do when you’re creating a character, followed by what you need to do next to flesh out your person.

I have a fast-track way of creating character, a key message and my best tip for you.

Finally, I’ll give you a handy check list that I use.

This post is for paid subscribers

Wild Writing with Sanjida
Wild Writing with Sanjida Podcast
I'm an award-winning writer. I mainly write psychological thrillers; I also write fiction and non-fiction. Represented by C&W Agency.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Wild Writing with Sanjida