Wild Writing with Sanjida
Wild Writing with Sanjida Podcast
My Short Story has been Shortlisted for an Award!
4
0:00
-2:48

My Short Story has been Shortlisted for an Award!

Behind the Scenes #8 'The Divide' is shortlisted for a CWA Dagger, plus writing for a living, what I'm listening to and Team Royal Literary Fund interview Neil Gaiman
4

I’m so delighted, my thriller, The Divide, has been shortlisted for a Crime Writers’ Association Short Story Dagger!

You can listen to me reading the opening (if you want!).

This is the second short story I’ve had published and shortlisted! This one is in The Book of Bristol edited by Joe Melia and Heather Marks and is available here.

The winner will be announced on 4 July at the CWA dinner in London at a fancy hotel. I’m not going as a) I’m too shy, b) I’m too poor and c) I’m going to listen to

talking about her new two-book special, A Year of Nothing.

The Hyphen by Emma Gannon
Introducing: A Year Of Nothing
Read more

Besides, Lee Child is also on the shortlist. Case made.

This is what I wrote about my short story and the launch in the Bristol Central Library:

Writing

My friend

invited me to write about how writers really make a living for her wonderful and brilliant Substack

This Itch of Writing with Emma Darwin
Writing for a Living
I was so pleased when my old friend from the Royal Literary Fund, novelist, non-fiction author, teacher and mentor Sanjida Kay, set up her Substack, Wild Writing With Sanjida. I was even more pleased when she suggested that we write for each other’s Substacks. (my piece for hers…
Read more

And in return Emma’s analysed how to separate and connect Showing and Telling in writing right here at

Listening

My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell. As Stephen King says, this is dynamite. It’s the story of a young woman, Vanessa Wye, who is 32 and discovers that her old English school teacher, Jacob Strane, is being accused of the rape of a minor.

Vanessa was fifteen when she first had sex with Strane, then aged 42. But for her, it wasn’t abuse, or rape. She is disgusted with the whole MeToo movement, where women are treated as victims. Because for Vanessa, this was love, and her love affair with her teacher has shaped her entire life.

‘To be groomed is to be loved and handled like a precious, delicate thing.’

It is, of course, hard to listen to at times, but deals with horrific issues in a nuanced and sensitive way.

The line that chills me to the bone is when Strane kneels at Vanessa’s feet, just before the first assault, and says, ‘I am going to ruin you.’

Gracie Gummer, the narrator of the audio book, says that the quote which haunts her, is when Vanessa, as an adult, is in therapy, but still denying that her relationship with Strane had been anything other than complicit and consensual.

Her therapist, Ruby, says, ‘You were just trying to go to school.’

The literary thread running through the book is beautiful, the writing is gorgeous, and I could listen to Gracie Gummer who was narrating it for Audible if she were reading my shopping list.

Impossible to put down.

Interviewing

Over at the

, Team RLF have been busy interviewing writers about their writing life. You can read all of them at My Writing Life. I love hearing about people’s routines (so much so that I’ve started doing a round up over at the of some writers’ writing routines (Subscribe to the RLF to get the free article when it’s out).

Some favourite authors of mine whom we’ve recently featured are:

Royal Literary Fund
My Writing Life: Neil Gaiman
Neil Gaiman writes prose, poetry, film, journalism, comics, song lyrics, and drama, including American Gods, Good Omens and the Sandman comic book series, which have been turned into TV series. He’s won many awards, including the Newbery and Carnegie Medals, the Hugos, Nebulas, the World Fantasy Award, Bram Stoker…
Read more

Find out why Neil says:

‘you’re going to be icing your hands every night and by week three your hand is going to look like a rubber washing up glove that someone has partially inflated.’

Royal Literary Fund
My Writing Life: Paula Hawkins
PAULA HAWKINS worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning to fiction. She is the author of two #1 New York Times bestselling novels, Into The Water and The Girl on The Train. An international #1 bestseller, The Girl on the Train has sold 23 million copies worldwide and has been adapted into a major motion picture. Her third thriller…
Read more

Here’s what Paula says about her writing:

‘In life, I’m a planner - I can’t bear disorder, mess and uncertainty - but in my writing life, I’ve come to realise that meticulous planning is creatively stifling.’

Royal Literary Fund
My Writing Life: Peter James
Peter James writes crime fiction and is the creator of Detective Superintendent Roy Grace, now a hit ITV drama starring John Simm as the troubled Brighton copper. His latest Roy Grace thriller, Stop them Dead, is out this month. He’s had 19 Sunday Times No. 1s, achieved global book sales of over 21 million copies to date, and has been tr…
Read more

Fun fact about Peter’s writing day:

‘My writing day starts at 6pm in the evening, when I mix a large vodka martini, with four olives, put on some music, such as the Kinks or Van Morrison and get into a zone. I try to ensure that whatever I’m doing, I leave myself time to write 1000 words 6 days a week.’

Share

Don’t feel able to Subscribe? Perhaps you’d like to support my writing by buying me a coffee instead?

Buy Me a Coffee!

Discussion about this podcast

Wild Writing with Sanjida
Wild Writing with Sanjida Podcast
I'm an award-winning writer. I mainly write psychological thrillers; I also write fiction and non-fiction. Represented by C&W Agency.